Pumpkin Spice Latte All Cleaned Up!

Picture

Starbuck’s Pumpkin Spice Latte
How tasty does that look?
Yum!
Too bad it makes me FAT!


On a side note, have I mentioned how much I love Pinterest?
I know it’s old news.  Truly, it is the best place to discover new ideas.
I ran across a pin a while back and decided to save it so that I could give it a try when the fall season approached.
 
Picture

Click for original recipe.
The pin linked back to The Gracious Pantry, a clean eating blog written by Tiffany.  I didn’t have all of the ingredients her recipe called for so, being the amazing chef that I am, I worked with what I had.
(Craig is gonna laugh when he reads that “amazing chef” bit.)


The following is Tiffany’s list of ingredients:
4 tbsp. ground coffee
1 tbsp. pumpkin spice (no sugar added, just the spice mix)
2-1/2 cups water
2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk OR…
2 cups regular milk + 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. pure maple syrup

I had to change things up a bit because I have a Keurig coffee maker.  The rest of this blog will be based on making this latte with a Keurig.  If you do not have a Keurig then please head on over to Tiffany’s blog.  


Alright, let’s do this!


My ingredients:
1.  Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin K-cup (You can use any ground pumpkin flavored coffee)
2.  1 tsp cinnamon
3. 1/8 tsp cloves
4. 1/8 tsp nutmeg
5.  1 cup Vanilla Almond Milk
6.  1 tbsp honey


This makes 2 servings.


I started off by mixing the spices with the coffee.

Picture

Picture

Picture

You must be careful not to add too much spice as it just might clog up the filter and not drain the coffee properly.  
Don’t ask me how I know.
I never make mistakes.
Twice.


Note: You will need the “My K cup” attachment for this. 
Picture



Next step is to brew the coffee using the largest cup button.
Picture

While your coffee is brewing, add 1/2 tablespoon honey to the bottom of your coffee cup.  The first time that I tried this, I used the 1 tablespoon of maple syrup that Tiffany’s recipe called for and it was entirely too sweet.  
Trial and error. 
Picture

Once your coffee has brewed, pour half of it in your coffee cup.  This recipe makes 2 cups.  
Slowly stir in 1/2 cup of the almond milk into the coffee.
Picture

Last step is to enjoy your delish cup of pumpkin spice goodness!
(Actually, you may have to heat it up a little first because the almond milk really cools it down 🙂
Picture

Check out the difference between the clean latte and Starbuck’s latte.

Clean Pumpkin Spice Latte 16oz

Fat 1.25g 
Sugar 16
Calories 75

Starbuck’s PS Latte Grande

Fat 0g
Sugar 48
Calories 260
Wowza!

I hope you guys enjoy these as much as my hubby and I do!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Do you have a yummy clean festive drink to share?


Sharing with…

Weekend Bloggy Reading
Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special
HookingupwithHoH
Beauty and Bedlam
Picture

Comments

Stacy Paton
10/06/2012 5:11pm

So delicious!!! I just made it with my Keurig and ‘my k-cup.’ I LOVE the starbucks one and you nailed it. 🙂 Well done!

Reply

Luisa
10/06/2012 8:06pm

Woohoo!! I’m glad you like it 🙂

Reply

10/09/2012 10:31pm

great recipe! I’m cleaning up breakfast over here: http://bit.ly/SK4klP
Blessings

I hate comments...SAID NOONE EVER! ;-)

