Stenciled Serving Tray

Wowza!
It’s been 3 weeks since I wrote a blog.
I’m such a slacker…


Anyway…
today I just wanted to share a quick and easy little project I did the other day.
If only replacing the tile in my sunroom was this easy.
Picture

 
I started off with some Martha Stewart stencils and metallic paint in Green Gold.  Love the metallic paint.  It’s shiny in the light and dull without light.  
It’s like 2 paints in one!
It’s the little things…
Per directions, Martha suggests using her special paint sponges and special tape…yeah…no.  
I just bought a cheaper brand sponge and used regular scotch tape and they worked just fine.
Picture

This is the really cute serving tray that I found at a thrift store for $1.
*
*
*
I’m just kidding ya’ll.  That was a bad thrifty blogger joke.  Sorry.
I got it at Pier One.
If it makes any difference it WAS 20% off.
🙂
Picture

I’ve never really stenciled anything before, so I was just kinda playing it by ear and hoping for the best.
I started off by taping the stencil right in the middle. 
Picture

Squirted a little tape on some tin foil and went at it!
Squirt is such a gross word.
Picture


I chose to use a sponge instead of brush to decrease the chance of bleeding under the stencil.

I didn’t bother sanding or anything like that.  
We shall see if it holds up.
So far so good.
Picture

I kept the design aligned by overlapping the stencil over the previously painted area.
Picture

Worked out well I think.
Picture

Staged picture.
Picture

For real picture.
Picture

Stenciling is a really easy way to make something unique and all your own.
I have other ideas brewing in this noggin of mine…

Do you get your kicks from stenciling?
Are you ready for that Thanksgiving dinner?
Yikes!!!

Sharing with…

Picture

Keeping It Simple
The DIY Dreamer
Mod Vintage Life
Home Stories A2Z

Comments

11/13/2012 6:53am

Your tray looks awesome! I need to try stenciling after seeing this.

Reply

Luisa
11/29/2012 9:52am

You should! So easy!!

Reply

11/13/2012 10:21am

Hi Luisa! Thanks for visiting me yesterday. Emylee told me about your blogs several weeks ago and I’ve been following you since! Love your blog!! (& this tray! )

Reply

Luisa
11/29/2012 9:52am

Thank you!!

Reply

11/18/2012 6:45pm

I want your tray!! You did such a great job on it!!!

Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality!

Reply

Luisa
11/29/2012 9:51am

Thank you so much!

I hate comments...SAID NOONE EVER! ;-)

