Mason Jars & Chalkboard Paint

Picture

Howdy folks! 
Wow…that sounded really country.  It’s okay…after all…I am a Georgia girl.  Plus, it suits this mason jar inspired post I’ve got goin’ on around these parts.  Oh, man…let’s see how many times spellcheck is gonna correct this southern accent of mine…

Actually…I really don’t have too bad of a southern twang.  It is usually more noticeable when I am getting a little tired…or a little muddled.
My mother on the other hand…

I bought these mason jar glasses as a Christmas gift.  I liked the little handle on them and had the perfect person in mind to give them to.  I didn’t really notice the little label on the front of the jar until I got home.  
I said to myself, “Self.  What can you do to this jar to make it a tad bit cuter?”
Picture

$9.99 and Brandsmart
Chalkboard paint is all over the place right now and has been for a while, but I have never jumped on the wagon.
Why?
Simply because I CAN NOT STAND the sound that chalk makes against the board.
It gives me chills just thinking about it.
I simply admired the cute crafty projects that involved the paint from my computer screen…
until now.
I wasn’t even sure if I could use the paint on glass, but I thought I’d give it a shot.Below are the supplies I used.  

Picture

I followed the directions on the bottle.  
It said to apply two coats, but as you can see I had to apply three waiting one hour in between coats.  
Then, I had to wait a whole 24 hours before I could actually use it…
GAAAHHH!!!
Picture

The picture below is after the 24 (1,000) hour wait and after priming it with chalk as instructed from the bottle.
Picture

Now to the fun part!!
Finding different ways the use the cute new mason jars!
(Note: No eardrums were damaged during this process.)
Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

I gently washed the jars with soap and water and they held up just fine!  Probably wouldn’t put them in the dishwasher though.
Picture

Not gonna lie..
imma gonna hafta go buy me sum!Do you like them?
Do you like to play with chalkboard paint or are you like me?

Update! This post was featured!

Sharing with…
Wow Us Wednesday
A Little Birdie Told Me Link Party
Lil’ Luna Link Party
Whatever Goes Wednesdays
A Crafty Soiree
Hookin’ Up With House of Hepworths
Blog Link Party
The 36th Avenue Party Time!
Feathered Nest Friday
Home Sweet Home
Fabulously Creative Friday Linky Party
Happy Hour Friday
Weekend Bloggy Reading
Frugal Friday
Lovely Crafty Weekend
Weekend Wrap Up Party 

Show and Tell Saturday
DIY Project Parade @DIY Showoff
Overflowing With Creativity @It’s Overflowing
Think Pink Sunday @Flamingo Toes
Nifty Thrifty Sunday @Nifty Thrifty Things

Motivate Me Monday @ Keeping It Simple Crafts
Mod Mix Monday @ Mod Vintage Life
Make It Pretty Monday @ The Dedicated House
Metamorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch
Tutorial and Tips @ Home Stories A to Z
Make the Scene Monday @ Alderberry Hill
Tuesdays Treasures @ Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Tweak It Tuesday @ Cozy Little House
From Dream to Reality @ The DIY Dreamer

Link Up With Me, Liz Marie

Comments

Sunday
01/23/2013 2:17pm

What a great idea. I have some mason jars in my kitchen cabinets right now that are just sitting there. I’m thinking maybe, gifts throughout the year. For instance, I am feeling inspired to do something with this idea for Mother’s Day, attach a cute little card to the handle with the jar personalized and filled with goodies that the receiver likes..hhhmmmm.. Got me thinking Luisa…

Reply

Luisa
01/23/2013 2:44pm

Good!! That’s why I share this stuff! I’m so glad to have inspired you. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Reply

01/25/2013 9:19am

These are so cute. I love your jars. I have a link party called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Blog Hop and would love to have you share this and any other posts with everyone. It runs from Tuesday night through midnight Sunday. Here is the link to the party.
http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2013/01/wednesdays-adorned-from-above-blog-hop_22.html
Debi and Charly @ Adorned From Above

Reply

Luisa
01/29/2013 10:43am

Thanks for visiting Debbie!

Reply

01/28/2013 8:33am

Those mason jars with the space for the label are too cute. Love what you did. So many cute uses. I love it!
Liz

Reply

Luisa
01/29/2013 10:42am

Thank you! 🙂

Reply

01/28/2013 8:38am

Now this I’d use all the time. Plus if you’re having a party people can put their names on their drinks!

Linking from Mod Vintage Monday,
Ricki Jill

Reply

Luisa
01/29/2013 10:42am

Someone else told me that too!!

Reply

01/29/2013 10:40am

Very cool! You’re going to be obsessed from now on! Huge impact with little effort! I love your fun ideas!!! XO, Aimee

Reply

Luisa
01/29/2013 10:43am

Haha! Thanks Aimee!

Reply

These are so cute! I love all the different ways to use them! Thanks for sharing a great tutorial!
Allison

Reply

Luisa
01/29/2013 9:55pm

Thank you Allison!

Reply

Char
02/13/2013 3:30pm

So cute, so many ideas…. Bobbles and sweets, etc… Thank you for the DIY.

Reply

Reeeendi
03/05/2013 10:27pm

Now i’m REALLY gonna have to start living and learning with Luisa since I don’t see you anymore. I do love these for my bathroom though!!! Will be sending you pictures soon!!!

I hate comments...SAID NOONE EVER! ;-)

