Upcycled Shoeboxes

Picture

Hiya!
Happy Wednesday to you!  Just wanted to share a super easy project that I’ve been working on.  I know talking about a shoebox is random, but it ties in with“Operation Organization”that I told you about with the craft room.
Plus…I am random.  Surely you know this by now.

It involves reusing the stack of shoeboxes that I’ve been hoarding.  Seriously, there are a lot and I’m so glad to put them to use now.  It just seemed like such a waste to throw them all away.  You know what I mean?  I needed some cute storage for the craft room without going out and buying stuff so I decided to make my own!  I know this isn’t a new and amazingly creative idea, but work with me people.A little time consuming, but quiet easy.
All that I did was take these empty shoeboxes…
Picture

and these… (left over from my DIY fall art project)
Picture

…a little tape and voila!
(not to be mistaken with “wahlah” according to the urban dictionary…don’t ask me how I know that)
Picture

Just don’t look at the back of them…
Picture

I think these will work just fine.
Picture

No science to this.  I simply wrapped the boxes with the paper and taped it down.  I encourage you to reuse your boxes as well.  You could use any leftover paper, wrapping paper, or fabric.  Newspaper would be cute too!
Picture

Onward my good people!
Go cutify those boxes!
Update:  This post was featured!
Picture

I often share with these awesome peeps…
SUNDAYDIY Project Parade @DIY Showoff
Overflowing With Creativity @It’s Overflowing
Think Pink Sunday @Flamingo Toes
Nifty Thrifty Sunday @Nifty Thrifty Things
MONDAYMotivate Me Monday @ Keeping It Simple Crafts
Mod Mix Monday @ Mod Vintage Life
Make It Pretty Monday @ The Dedicated House
Metamorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch
Tutorial and Tips @ Home Stories A to Z

Make the Scene Monday @ Alderberry Hill
TUESDAYTuesdays Treasures @ Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Tweak It Tuesday @ Cozy Little House
From Dream to Reality @ The DIY Dreamer
WEDNESDAYWow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style
A Little Birdie Told Me Link Party @ The Life of Jennifer Dawn
Lil’ Luna Link Party @ Lil’ Luna
Whatever Goes Wednesday @ Someday Crafts
Whimsy Wednesday
THURSDAYHookin’ Up With House of Hepworths @ The House Of Hepworths
A Crafty Soiree @ Yesterday on Tuesday
Blog Link Party @ Somewhat Simple
The 36th Avenue Party Time @ 36th Avenue
Craftberry Bush Linky Party @ Craftberry Bush
Party With Me, Liz Marie 
FRIDAYWeekend Bloggy Reading @ Serenity Now Blog
Home Sweet Home @ The Charm of Home
Inspiration Friday @ At The Picket Fence
Fabulously Creative Friday @ Jennifer Rizzo
Feathered Nest Friday @ The French Country Cottage
Weekend Wrap Up Party @ Tatertots and Jello
Frugal Friday @ The Shabby Nest
Happy Hour Friday @ Happy Hour Projects
Lovely Crafty Weekend @ Lovely Crafty Home
SATURDAYShow and Tell Saturday @ Be Different Act Normal
Moonshine Monday @ The Honeysuckle Bus Stop
Winter Blues Wednesday @ DIY by Design
Tuesday Pin Party @ Sarah Dawn Designs
Thrifty Thursdays @ Julia Kendrick

Comments

02/14/2013 8:51am

these are adorable and I love the coordinating paper pad you used. Thank you for sharing. Visiting from the Crafty Soiree. http://www.thememorynest.blogspot.com

Reply

Luisa
02/15/2013 10:45am

Thank you Leslie!

Reply

02/14/2013 10:56am

i know, it seems a shame to throw out perfectly good boxes! don’t look at the back of them, too funny. i actually did something like this with board games i have in my tv console.

Reply

Luisa
02/15/2013 10:47am

They really are pretty sturdy and quiet functional!

Reply

02/15/2013 9:33am

Very cute idea! Visiting from Serenity Now! I’m your newest follower 🙂

-Bonnie @ Revolutionaries
http://www.revolutionariesblog.com

Reply

Luisa
02/15/2013 10:48am

Thanks for visiting Bonnie! I subscribed to you too!

Reply

02/15/2013 12:30pm

cute! so simple, but great idea. Little Bit

Reply

Luisa
02/18/2013 11:27am

Thanks!

Reply

02/15/2013 1:43pm

This is really pretty! What an excellent idea! I may do some this weekend…I LOVE scrapbook paper…so many different uses for it! Thank you for sharing:)

Reply

Luisa
02/18/2013 11:28am

I know right? Three cheers for scrapbook paper!

Reply

02/16/2013 8:27am

Love the paper you chose, it is sooooo pretty and totally my style. And who doesn’t need more cute storage options?

Reply

Luisa
02/18/2013 11:28am

Exactly! Thank you so much for visiting!

Reply

02/16/2013 9:03am

Visiting from Its Overflowing, I love this idea! It is so simple but I never thought of it. (I just can’t seem to throw away my shoe boxes either!)
Thanks for sharing,
Christy

Reply

Luisa
02/18/2013 11:27am

Thank you for visiting! I’m just so happy they are being put to use!

Reply

02/17/2013 9:53pm

I love the pretty color combos. 🙂

Reply

Luisa
02/18/2013 11:26am

Thanks for visiting!

Reply

02/18/2013 1:10pm

Yay! I knew I’ve been saving my old shoe boxes for some reason! Thanks for sharing! You did a great job!!

I’d love it so much if you linked up with me for Moonshine Monday at The Honeysuckle Bus Stop! My readers would totally love this.

Thanks!
Amber @ The Honeysuckle Bus Stop
http://thehoneysucklebusstop.blogspot.com/

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:39am

Thank you for the comment and for the invite Amber!

Reply

02/18/2013 4:47pm

Those boxes are adorable. I am planning on doing something similar with some shoe boxes I have as well. I would love for you to come and link this up to my Winter Blues Wednesday party that opens each Tuesday evening at 8pm EST. Hope to see you there.

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:40am

Good! I’m glad you can put your shoeboxes to use as well! Saving the world…one shoebox at a time! 🙂 Thank you for your invite!

Reply

02/18/2013 5:11pm

This is such a good idea!! It would save me SOOOOO much money, too! I usually just buy the photo boxes from Michaels but this will make my husband so happy to reuse and recycle and NOT spend money!! Thanks for sharing!

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:41am

So glad you like them Megan! Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

Reply

These are really cute!!! I always have a hoard of shoe boxes as well, and I might have to give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:42am

So funny…thanks for stopping by Bethany!

Reply

02/19/2013 3:40pm

I love this idea, the paper is so pretty! 🙂

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:43am

Thanks Catherine! I found the paper at Hobby Lobby!

Reply

Sarah
02/19/2013 6:00pm

So cute and simple. I love your mix of patterns. If you get a chance come share over at my Tuesday Pin Party.

http://sarahdawndesigns.blogspot.com/2013/02/pintastic-tuesday-link-party-27.html#.USP_sKWkrCc

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:43am

Thank you Sarah! I’ll come visit you!!

Reply

02/19/2013 9:09pm

These are adorable. Great up cycle idea. Love your blog, hope you will come visit my blog sometime, I’ll be visiting yours often I really enjoyed my visit.
Best
Angel

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:46am

Thank you for the sweet comment Angel! I always visit the blog of anyone who leaves me a comment 🙂 Be seeing you soon!

Reply

02/20/2013 2:00am

Great idea! Those boxes are adorable!

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:46am

Thank you Bethany!

Reply

02/20/2013 8:59am

These boxes are so cute and such a cheap way to make extra storage!

I would love if you would share these tomorrow at my linky party!
Thrifty Thursdays @ http://www.juliakendrick.com

Julia

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:47am

Thank you Julia and thank you for the invite!!

Reply

02/21/2013 6:59pm

These are great! I love the colors in that paper pack!

I found you at Whatever Goes Wednesday @ Someday Crafts! I’d love for you to share this with our readers at the Pinterest Power Party and get pinned! Hope you have a Terrific Thursday!

Danielle
http://www.sewmuchcrafting.com/2013/02/pinterest-power-party-co-hosting.html?

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:47am

Thanks for visiting Danielle and thank you for the invite!

Reply

02/22/2013 10:10am

love love love that paper you used…grrr I’m kicking myself cuz I HAD been hoarding boxes too but JUST recycled them this week….now I have to start all over again and go find more fab paper! great inspiration!

http://www.northerncottage.net/2013/02/diy-canvas-jewelry-holder.html

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:48am

Sooo glad you liked and sooo proud of you for recycling instead of adding to the landfill!

Reply

02/24/2013 5:04pm

I love these, featuring tomorrow 🙂
XO
Kristin

Reply

Luisa
02/26/2013 10:49am

So glad you loved Kristin! Thank you so much for the feature 🙂

Reply

03/13/2013 10:36pm

This is such a great idea! Love it! I am featuring you tomorrow at Thrifty Thursday! Hope you join us again and link up!

appleofmamaseye.blogspot.com

-Lindsey

One thought on “Upcycled Shoeboxes

I hate comments...SAID NOONE EVER! ;-)

